MSU RB Kylin Hill wins 2019 C Spire Conerly Trophy

posted in: Mississippi News | 0
Graphic Courtesy of MSU Athletics

For the second straight season, a Bulldog has been chosen as the top college football player in Mississippi.

Mississippi State RB Kylin Hill finished the regular season as the SECís leading rusher, and last night, he was awarded the 24th annual C Spire Conerly Trophy.

Named in honor of Ole Miss and New York Giant great Charlie Conerly, the award is presented to the top college football player in Mississippi each year, and Hill becomes the 8th Bulldog to win the award.

“It’s really special,” Hill said. “Growing up as a kid, this is an award every Mississippi athlete should want to win. I’m honored and thankful. I know [the other finalists] are all great athletes. For me to win it, it’s a compliment.”

The junior RB racked up 1,347 yards and 10 touchdowns this season, including a 132-yard performance in Mississippi Stateís 21-20 win in the Egg Bowl on Thanksgiving night. That marked Hillís 8th 100-yard performance of the season – tying a Bulldog single-season record.

Hill was selected as the winner over 9 other finalists by a panel of statewide sports media representatives. The Columbus native also won the fan voting portion of the award, which counts for 10% of the award.

The other finalists for the award included:

  • Ole Miss QB John Rhys Plumlee
  • USM QB Jack Abraham
  • Delta State DB Junior Faulk
  • Jackson State LB Keonte Hampton
  • Alcorn State QB Felix Harper
  • MS College QB Detric Hawthorn
  • Belhaven QB Hunter McEachern
  • MS Valley State DB Tracy Thompkins
  • Millsaps DE Liam Vincifora

The post MSU RB Kylin Hill wins 2019 C Spire Conerly Trophy appeared first on News Mississippi.