Governor Reeves tweaks, extends “Safe Recovery” order

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

Originally set to expire this morning, Governor Tate Reeves has announced an extension to his “Safe Recovery” order, which places a mask mandate and stricter social distancing guidelines on qualified counties. 

The newest iteration of the order, to expire on December 11th, includes the following 15 counties. 

Benton, Carroll, Covington, DeSoto, Forrest, Harrison, Humphreys, Jackson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leflore, Lee, Marshall, Rankin, and Yalobusha.

In these counties, indoor social gatherings are limited to 10 people or less and outdoor social gatherings are limited to 50. Masks are required while indoors and when social distancing is not possible.

Chickasaw, Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Madison and Neshoba were removed from the order. 

“I know that we are all tired and ready to move on. But the virus is still here,” Governor Reeves said. “It’s still working to infect and kill. We’ve gotten far better at dealing with it, and allowing for life to go on. But we’re not all the way there yet. Keep fighting and protecting the most vulnerable in your life. No matter where you are, please do your best to social distance and wear a mask.”

After tweeting that his youngest daughter had tested positive for COVID-19 Tuesday, the governor posted an update shortly after informing the public that he, and the rest of his family, tested negative. Additionally, his youngest daughter also tested negative. 

The post Governor Reeves tweaks, extends “Safe Recovery” order appeared first on News Mississippi.